Sega Master System / Mark III / Game Gear
SG-1000 / SC-3000 / SF-7000 / OMV
Home - Forums - Games - Scans - Maps - Cheats - Credits
Music - Videos - Development - Hacks - Translations - Homebrew

View topic - Sega Master System Doesn't Work

Reply to topic
Sega Master System Doesn't Work
Post Posted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 6:25 pm
Hello all. I have a Sega Master System that I've had for about the last 20 years. A year or two ago I pulled it out of the closet to play and couldn't find the right AC adapter. Since my original one #3025 had the wires frayed I had just assumed that I was using my Genesis adapter. When I plugged that in, I remember the power light being faint and no games would work, I may have even tried my NES AC adapter to no avail. At this point I do remember smelling a slight burning smell but no smoke.

After that I went to Radio shack and purchased an adapter that matched the original, 1Milliamp, 9 volts, negative tip. The system will still not turn the green light on. I have taken it completely apart since then looked at the circuit board and see no visible burnt solder marks or anything. Is there a way to troubleshoot these with an ohm meter/volt meter?

Anyways, I have a Genesis with the Power Base Converter so I can still enjoy my SMS games, just wondering if I could get the old SMS to work for old time's sake.
  • Site Admin
Post Posted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 10:14 pm
The AC might have killed it. The faint LED suggests it might have had problems anyway.
Post Posted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 10:23 pm
Hmmm... looks that when you tried to put the N*S PSU on the SMS, you fried the 7805 (+5V) Voltage Regulator... This is a very very common and cheap component, even here in Brazil, and it looks like a MOSFET like transistor, easy to replace...

It also looks like you have a problem with bad capacitors on the system, looks for some leaky or stuffed ones, and try looking at broken lines on the board...