Sega Master System / Mark III / Game Gear
SG-1000 / SC-3000 / SF-7000 / OMV
Home - Forums - Games - Scans - Maps - Cheats - Credits
Music - Videos - Development - Hacks - Translations - Homebrew

View topic - Fullscreen video playback on Sega Master System

Reply to topic Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Fullscreen video playback on Sega Master System
Post Posted: Thu Sep 15, 2016 7:36 am
Hello, this is my first post here but I think I have something worth posting :)
I love the SMS and it's games, I had a SMS as a kid and even wrote a small private emulator for it few years ago.
Anyway, I recently thought about making a demo for it but since I'm not very good with graphics, I thought about trying to play video by encoding frames into tiles and tilemaps.

So, I started by writing a PC app to encode the video frames. Basically the encoder first tries to merge similar tiles between 2 keyframes, stopping when a quality level is reached.
Then it finds the optimal 16 color palette to encode all the tiles for a keyframe and finally it does the dithering and outputs a binary blob and an index to include in the ROM asm.
I have to say the encoding process is extremely memory and CPU heavy, a 20sec video takes 10GB of RAM and 2 hours to encode on my PC.

The Z80 decoder then unpacks the tiles and tilemaps as the video advances. Video is 12.5 fps by the way (no worse than many 50Hz PS1 videos eh :).
Since this process seems too slow to be done in a single VBlank, I use a form of double buffering to be able to use the 4 VSync of time to prepare the next video frame. Unfortunately it limits the quality to 207 tiles per video frame to fit 2 frames in the 16KB VRAM.

Here's the link: sfx.gligli.free.fr/smsdev/nggyu_v1.sms (made for 50Hz, should work in 60Hz but will play too fast) (also attached to this post).

The ROM seems to work on all emulators I tried, I have yet to try it on real hardware but it should be a matter of days.