SG-1000 / SC-3000 / SF-7000 / OMV
Home - Forums - Games - Scans - Maps - Cheats - Credits
Music - Videos - Development - Hacks - Translations - Homebrew

View topic - vgm2mid help -- problem with midi

Reply to topic
mota
vgm2mid help -- problem with midi
Post Posted: Tue May 21, 2002 7:26 pm
I'm new to converting vgm/vgz files to midi. I'm using the latest version of vgm2mid 0.5...The problem I'm encountering is when I convert master system songs that I got from this site or from zophar, some of them can't be opened in a computer sequencer/midi editor (cakewalk, cubase, etc..) When trying to open some files I get a 'Cannot read file' error, either that or it just hangs. The weird thing is I can play these converted midi files normally with a midi player. So if I can play them normally with a midi player, why can't I open them in a midi editor? Strange...

Thanks for any help, or enlightenment.

Paul Jensen (author of vg
I don't know what's causing the problem either (more...)
Post Posted: Tue May 21, 2002 9:22 pm
I'm not exactly sure why some files can be read by players but not sequencers. It may be due to the fact that the files are in midi format 0 (all channels on one track), and most sequencers probably handle format 1 a little better (all channels on seperate tracks). Maybe somebody with more knowledge of the MIDI format than I (are there many around these days?) can add support for format 1.

Paul

• Site Admin
Get clever
Post Posted: Wed May 22, 2002 5:04 pm
> I'm not exactly sure why some files can be read by players but not sequencers. It may be due to the fact that the files are in midi format 0 (all channels on one track), and most sequencers probably handle format 1 a little better (all channels on seperate tracks). Maybe somebody with more knowledge of the MIDI format than I (are there many around these days?) can add support for format 1.