Sega Master System / Mark III / Game Gear
SG-1000 / SC-3000 / SF-7000 / OMV
Home - Forums - Games - Scans - Maps - Cheats - Credits
Music - Videos - Development - Hacks - Translations - Homebrew

View topic - Sonic FM hack: enabling PSG/FM mixing

Reply to topic
Sonic FM hack: enabling PSG/FM mixing
Post Posted: Sat Aug 30, 2014 9:09 am
[Admin: technical stuff split from http://www.smspower.org/forums/viewtopic.php?t=14984 ]

It sound really nice!!!

I do not know if it is due to the timing isssue already discussed, but on the japanese master system the psg sound (rings, bees shooting, doors, point count, bounces in the bonus stages, etc) disappear.
Post Posted: Mon Sep 01, 2014 6:09 am
The PSG sound shouldn't disappear at all, so this is weird.
Unfortunately I don't have any hardware I can test this with and don't know what even could cause this bug.
Post Posted: Tue Sep 02, 2014 12:38 am
True, I have a Japanese Master System too and I'm getting quite the same problem as kamillebidan with the missing PSG sound. Unfortunately I'm getting FM music only.

There also seems to be another problem with FM music playing wrong notes in a random manner, something which is not related to the fact of being a Japanese Master System because it can be noticed too in this video by db-electronics using a Mega Drive (00:52 for example).

• Site Admin
Post Posted: Tue Sep 02, 2014 9:15 am
That's probably the timing issue. I'm not sure what's up with the missing PSG though.
Post Posted: Tue Sep 02, 2014 10:06 am
Could it be that the Japanese Master System specific I/O chip has a feature to disable/enable PSG output mixing ?

I don't have access to my notes right now but I once analyzed the board scans available here to figure I/O chip pinout and I think I noticed the PSG output from VDP goes through a 74HC00 NAND gate which is controlled by the 315-5297 I/O chip.

Maybe it is automatically disabled when FM is accessed or there is some bit somewhere to enable/disable it ?