SG-1000 / SC-3000 / SF-7000 / OMV
Home - Forums - Games - Scans - Maps - Cheats - Credits
Music - Videos - Development - Hacks - Translations - Homebrew

View topic - CPU Register VS Stack when call functions

Reply to topic
CPU Register VS Stack when call functions
Post Posted: Fri Dec 01, 2023 6:20 pm
Hello everyone,

I'd like your opinion on a question for which I can't find an answer.
I'm a beginner in assembler programming, and I'm currently factoring my code into functions.

Whe calling a function, is it better to :
- pass all function arguments through CPU registers (faster), if they can all fit inside ?
- pass all function arguments through the Stack (slower), this seems to be the convention when developing in assembler ?
- read all variables directly from the RAM ?

On one hand, I say to myself: frankly, if it works by passing everything through the registers, why bother?
On the other hand, I also like the idea of writing clean code that respects convention.

If we focus on performance:
- CPU Register is the fastest way to read/write bytes in terms of cycles.
- Read or Write from RAM (through 'LD X, (HL)') is 7 cycles
- Read or Write from Stack (through POP and PUSH) is 10 and 11 cycles.

The note on the following page answers my question: https://www.smspower.org/Development/Stack
In general, this is not recommended in Z80 code. It takes more space and is far slower than passing parameters in registers. If you need to pass in more parameters than can fit into the available registers, consider using a memory structure instead.

But searching on internet and reading some blogs like this one, seems to give a different answer:
There may be times when we need to read or write data super quickly... and there's a clever trick for this... as mentioned before, the Stack pointer offers the fastest reading and writing the Z80 can offer.

https://www.chibiakumas.com/z80/index.php#Lesson8 (at Stack Misuse! chapter).

I'd like to read your opinions

Thanks.