SG-1000 / SC-3000 / SF-7000 / OMV
Home - Forums - Games - Scans - Maps - Cheats - Credits
Music - Videos - Development - Hacks - Translations - Homebrew

View topic - Bizarre Master System

Reply to topic
Bizarre Master System
Post Posted: Sun May 14, 2023 7:17 pm
Hi all,
I'm new here and not 100% sure if I'm posting in the correct place but here goes:
I have a master system that's behaving very strangely. I have recapped it and swapped out a couple of chips but it's made no difference.
When I power up I get the Sega logo followed by the first screen of Alex Kid, it doesn't get as far as the boxes popping up and there is no music, it just kinda hangs there.

I've tried several other known working games:
Ghostbusters: Music works, game appears to work until you press start. You try and navigate to enter a code and the cursor goes everywhere by itself. Using the joypad makes no difference. The joypad works fine on another system.
Golden Axe: Seems to work with graphics and music, press start and it goes back to the first page.
Double Dragon: Sound and graphics, press start and back to the start.
Robocop V Terminator: Same thing getting a bit of a pattern here.
Other games get as far as the Sega logo then either go to a blank screen or hang on the logo.
Any ideas please. Sorry if I've posted in the wrong place.
Post Posted: Sun May 14, 2023 9:19 pm
Apart from Alex Kidd, sounds like things only start going wrong when you press a button on the control pad, is that right? If you don't press a button, do any of the games play a demo level or anything?

It's possible that there is a fault with the GA such that pressing a button causes a short across the power supply or something like that. That could cause the system to restart.

Another possibility is a fault on the address or data buses with the former being more likely.