SG-1000 / SC-3000 / SF-7000 / OMV
Home - Forums - Games - Scans - Maps - Cheats - Credits
Music - Videos - Development - Hacks - Translations - Homebrew

View topic - Master System Graphical Limitation Questions

Reply to topic
Master System Graphical Limitation Questions
Post Posted: Sun Oct 16, 2022 12:27 pm
Last edited by Mondo on Sun Oct 16, 2022 12:50 pm; edited 1 time in total
Hi, I'm making a little game on PC that I want to ape the Master System's graphics, down to the tile limit if possible (but also taking into account tricks that were used). I'm a pixel artist first and a total layman on most other things, so I have a bunch of questions I'd like to ask the experts here if that's ok! I'll start with a few sentences of what I think I understand about the graphical hardware limitations, in case that's wrong, and then I'll put my questions after.

- 448 tiles in VRAM at once, up to 256 of them can be sprite tiles, and any amount of the 448 can be Background tiles.

- When drawing the background, any tile in VRAM can in fact be drawn despite its designation, but when drawing the sprites you only have access to the sprite tiles.

- Choosing colours from the master palette of 64 colours, there are two in-game 16-colour palettes. One of the palettes is available to sprites, whilst BG tiles can use either (I have a question about this below, number 1).

- BG tiles can be flipped horizontally or vertically to save space, sprite tiles cannot.

- When drawing backgrounds there is no limit on what 8x8 tile can be drawn where and with which palette, unlike say the NES which (until later, rare mappers) had the 16x16 regional divison of background palette usage.

My questions, if I may!

1. Can BG tiles actually just simply use either palette, or does this only refer to the SMS's ability to draw sprites as BG tiles?