SG-1000 / SC-3000 / SF-7000 / OMV
Home - Forums - Games - Scans - Maps - Cheats - Credits
Music - Videos - Development - Hacks - Translations - Homebrew

View topic - Border color difference when playing Wonder Boy III on Everdrive

Reply to topic
Border color difference when playing Wonder Boy III on Everdrive
Post Posted: Fri Feb 25, 2022 3:38 pm
Last edited by markpaterson on Fri Feb 25, 2022 5:35 pm; edited 1 time in total
(Old subject was: "I've found a difference between my Wonder Boy III cartridge and the common ROM dump found online")

I have a SEGA Master System (US model 1) and a Master Everdrive X7.

I've noticed that there's a difference between my cartridge version of Wonder Boy III: The Dragon's Trap and the ROM dump that's available all over the internet.

My cartridge has BLACK borders, but the ROM dump has COLORED borders!

The ROM in question is named "Wonder Boy III - The Dragon's Trap (USA, Europe).sms" and the SHA256 hash is f2db2cbdaaedb3275fc6d334dc36514cbad969a5be62f63b93e14e7dbb7d9897. I've had a quick look around online and this is the only version of the game I can find.

My cartridge (and the game box) has a sticker which says "SEGA for the 90s. The New Generation". According to the page about the game on this very site, it looks like I could have a second US release of the cartridge. I believe that "SEGA for the 90s" campaign was in-part to promote the release of the Master System II.

Any idea what version number my cartridge is? I'm curious what else is different about it. Maybe this is a version 1.1?

Anyway, I really hate the colored borders, I find them very distracting. Is there a ROM dump of this second US release out in the wild? You don't need to post direct links if that is against the policy of this site, but I'd appreciate getting pointed in the right direction, i.e. what exactly to search for.