Sega Master System / Mark III / Game Gear
SG-1000 / SC-3000 / SF-7000 / OMV
Home - Forums - Games - Scans - Maps - Cheats - Credits
Music - Videos - Development - Hacks - Translations - Homebrew

View topic - Homebrew Potential

Reply to topic
Homebrew Potential
Post Posted: Thu Sep 23, 2021 11:21 am
Been seeing more and more homebrews on the Master System recently and for some titles I've never even heard of like Cabbage Patch Kids etc. I was speaking with a guy on twitter who is doing something with the original Final Fantasy for SMS too. Can Speccy games run on there? What else?

What potential is there for porting other systems onto the Master System? I'm a complete novice and apologies if this have been asked before.
  • Site Admin
Post Posted: Thu Sep 23, 2021 11:41 am
Because of the Master System’s backward compatibility with SG-1000, games for ColecoVision and MSX1 are often quite easy to port, but with the same graphics capabilities as on the originals. The developer might make a port to Master System with enhanced graphics if that fits the game.

For other Z80 based systems it is rather more difficult. The systems of that time were generally differentiated by the graphics chips and the games built closely to match the capabilities of the chip. Porting a game from Spectrum to SMS would be difficult to do without basically rewriting much of it. It’s also the case that ROM based code is often written differently to RAM based systems like Spectrum, so code changes would be needed.

Games written for other CPUs will need to be rewritten from scratch in most cases.

One possible exception is games written for the original Game Boy, which has a CPU very similar to the Z80. However, the graphics chip capabilities and screen resolution are very different which is likely to frustrate ports. While the Game Gear does have the same screen resolution, it’s a different shape and the difficulty in converting the data remains.