SG-1000 / SC-3000 / SF-7000 / OMV
Home - Forums - Games - Scans - Maps - Cheats - Credits
Music - Videos - Development - Hacks - Translations - Homebrew

View topic - Tools to switch audio tracks from a GG game to a SEGA CD game

Reply to topic
OUSIA
Tools to switch audio tracks from a GG game to a SEGA CD game
Post Posted: Mon Mar 29, 2021 3:16 am
I'm not a coder in the least but I did want to see what I would have to do to accomplish this.

Thanks in advance!

• Site Admin
Post Posted: Mon Mar 29, 2021 7:16 am
I think you need to explain it a bit more. Do you mean replacing a Sega CD game soundtrack with that of a GG game?
OUSIA
Post Posted: Mon Mar 29, 2021 11:06 am
Yes, exactly.

Post Posted: Mon Mar 29, 2021 1:25 pm
If the Sega CD game uses redbook audio, you simply need to convert the vgm files to either wav (for actual cd burning) or mp3 (for use in emulators). Exotic options may include iso/cue/bin, but the bottom line is that this is easily doable.

If the Sega CD game uses PSG/FM/PCM audio, you'll have a hard time. Which is why even Sonic CD uses the same tunes for the past levels.
OUSIA
Post Posted: Wed Mar 31, 2021 8:44 pm
So I'm a little confused on about actually getting the audio. There was only a .cue and a .bin file. I read that the .cue file lists the tracks along with the length, start and end times. It shows a total of 35 tracks. I've uploaded the .cue file. I also extracted the .bin file using UltraISO and I've put links to the screenshots below. There are a bunch of .x files (total of 80), along with a few other files.

https://ibb.co/HgSJZLH
https://ibb.co/VBr0pLz

I don't think that these are Redbook audio files. They are also not PSG, FM or PCM that Tom said would be difficult to extract.

I'm not entirely sure where to go from here.

Is anyone familiar with any of the files shown? Is there a tool to extract them?
Shining Force CD (Sega CD) (U)-redump.cue.txt (2.43 KB)
.Cue File that I saved as a text file