Sega Master System / Mark III / Game Gear
SG-1000 / SC-3000 / SF-7000 / OMV
Home - Forums - Games - Scans - Maps - Cheats - Credits
Music - Videos - Development - Hacks - Translations - Homebrew

View topic - Master System 1 display issues

Reply to topic
Master System 1 display issues
Post Posted: Fri Nov 13, 2020 10:31 pm
Hello there, I'm Vivian, this is my first time on the forum!

I picked up a European SMS 1 a week or so ago, and recently got the AV cables. However, after plugging in my system all I get is flashing coloured bars.

These change depending on the cartridge inserted (all PAL carts) but I cannot get a recognizable image and there is no sound to speak of. An example is attached.

I'm using a PAL television (although I currently live in North America) and I'm using a power converter for the plug. Is it a fault of the power cable or video? I'm stuck for answers I'm afraid.

Any help will be much appreciated - I was told this was a French system, so I'm unsure if it requires SECAM (which my television may support...) or one of the PAL variants that cause a lot of trouble.

Post Posted: Mon Nov 16, 2020 10:12 am
Vivian wrote
recently got the AV cables. However, after plugging in my system all I get is flashing coloured bars.

describe your cables so that we can see if you're over RF or RGB
Master System 1 display issues
Post Posted: Tue Nov 17, 2020 2:32 am
What does the sticker on the bottom of the Console say where the model number and serial number is written?

It should say something like "SEGA MASTER SYSTEM Power Base PAL". The last word is the display type e.g. NTSC, or PAL-G, etc...
Post Posted: Fri Nov 20, 2020 4:04 am
sverx wrote
Vivian wrote
recently got the AV cables. However, after plugging in my system all I get is flashing coloured bars.

describe your cables so that we can see if you're over RF or RGB

One yellow cable, one white cable.
Post Posted: Fri Nov 20, 2020 4:06 am
asynchronous wrote