Sega Master System / Mark III / Game Gear
SG-1000 / SC-3000 / SF-7000 / OMV
Home - Forums - Games - Scans - Maps - Cheats - Credits
Music - Videos - Development - Hacks - Translations - Homebrew

View topic - Need Some Help With Golden Axe ROM Tiles

Reply to topic
Need Some Help With Golden Axe ROM Tiles
Post Posted: Tue Aug 04, 2020 9:28 am
Hi everyone, I'm a bit new here, I did join a little while back, and have been lurking at a bunch of projects, but this is my first time posting.

I'm working on a number of side projects. One of them being a SMS Golden Axe hack. Nothing too fancy, just want to update the graphics with Tyris Flare. So a Tyris Flare version so to speak. I'm still pretty green to the whole ROM hacking scene, so forgive me if I sound ignorant.

Thanks to the information given on this site (there's a lot of information), and from another user's (hang-on) post on creating a trainer for the same game, it has been pretty much smooth sailing. I have a background in game programming and programming in general, but hacking has always been entirely different beast altogether.

Ok, with that out of the way, I have created a general tool in .net to make replacing the graphics generally painless for me. Most graphics in SMS Golden Axe are uncompressed. Just some images like the title/end screens are compressed. I got those and the stage data all completed (as I may want to change those too), I'm now working on getting the Ax Battler sprite data, but I am confused on the data I'm getting.

It seems like it's uncompressed 4bpp data when I look at it in tilemolester. Except there looks like there are some lines going through things where it shouldn't. I figured out the palette the game is using on the sprite, and it leaves me unable to explain it. I can shift pixels and read them in differently, but the lines remain. Has anyone else have this issue? What did you do to resolve it? Thanks in advance.
issue_01.png (19.35 KB)
issue_01.png

• Site Admin