Sega Master System / Mark III / Game Gear
SG-1000 / SC-3000 / SF-7000 / OMV
Home - Forums - Games - Scans - Maps - Cheats - Credits
Music - Videos - Development - Hacks - Translations - Homebrew

View topic - Need help with dead M4 Power Base Pal

Reply to topic
Need help with dead M4 Power Base Pal
Post Posted: Sun Jul 26, 2020 2:32 pm
Ok so... i got a dead Master System the other day. Ebay, untested, you know how the story goes. So i opened it up, replaced the NEC 7805 Voltage Regulator with a brandnew L7805CV. Now the green LED comes on. The system has power. However the screen stays black. I get no audio. Is the new voltage translator incompatible? Do i have it in the right way? I soldered it in with the metalbit facing outwards, just as the NEC was in there. I saw some PCB photos on this forum where the metal bit of the 7805 faces inwards?
mas.jpg (227.33 KB)
mas.jpg
dead nec.jpg (205.8 KB)
dead nec.jpg
new voltage.jpg (117.31 KB)
new voltage.jpg
L7805CV.jpg (3.17 MB)
L7805CV.jpg

Post Posted: Sun Jul 26, 2020 6:20 pm
have you considered replacing the capacitors as well?
Post Posted: Sun Jul 26, 2020 8:48 pm
Update: all the traces look spotless. I cant find cracks or corrosion of any sort. I also replaced the three 100uf caps, two near the RGB out on position c25 & c28 and the one near the power plug.

At the moment i am wondering if A) the voltage regulator is incompatible somehow, or B) if the z80 is shot?

Is it worth replacing the 4.7uf & 10uf caps as well? I know Game Gears wont switch on due to aging caps.
Post Posted: Sun Jul 26, 2020 11:28 pm
The 7805 looks fine.. the fact you have a power led means its giving an output.

Have you got an oscilliscope? Id check that the z80 and vdp both have a clock signal before going too much further with replacing caps.
Post Posted: Sun Jul 26, 2020 11:47 pm
Alas i don't have an oscilliscope. The L7805CV looks OK according to the datasheet. But then again i am no expert.
Post Posted: Sun Aug 02, 2020 11:06 pm