View topic - Z80 Stuff

Reply to topic
Z80 Stuff
Post Posted: Fri Mar 27, 2020 11:34 pm
Last edited by Stokes on Sun Sep 12, 2021 2:47 pm; edited 3 times in total
Talk about some Z80 stuff here.
Post Posted: Sat Mar 28, 2020 12:08 pm
Stokes wrote
I am pleased to ask if one of you users will port it.

I'll do it, lemme just fire up my secret Scratch-Z80 compiler and

Sike. If you want your game on the SG-1000, why not learn some Z80 assembly and port it yourself? You'll probably find that you'll need to make significant changes to your game to get it on the SMS.
Post Posted: Sat Mar 28, 2020 1:35 pm
Wafer wrote
Stokes wrote

Sike. If you want your game on the SG-1000, why not learn some Z80 assembly and port it yourself? You'll probably find that you'll need to make significant changes to your game to get it on the SMS.

O_o

Well, since this is my first year to be on here while I've done some MSX2SMS ports, I will try for all.
Post Posted: Sat Mar 28, 2020 2:08 pm
If you want to start from something close to Scratch, you could try Blockly-Z80:

http://www.haroldo-ok.com/blockly-z80/blockly-z80/demos/commands/index.html

Please, do keep in mind that the tool is extremely unfinished, and the Z80 code it generates is correct, but far from optimal.

Also, for didactical purposes, you might also want to try the 8bitworkshop IDE:

https://8bitworkshop.com/v3.5.0/?platform=sms-sms-libcv&file=climber.c

It is pretty easy to use, but you will need to know either assembly or C.
Post Posted: Sat Mar 28, 2020 4:04 pm
haroldoop wrote
If you want to start from something close to Scratch, you could try Blockly-Z80:

http://www.haroldo-ok.com/blockly-z80/blockly-z80/demos/commands/index.html

Please, do keep in mind that the tool is extremely unfinished, and the Z80 code it generates is correct, but far from optimal.

Also, for didactical purposes, you might also want to try the 8bitworkshop IDE:

https://8bitworkshop.com/v3.5.0/?platform=sms-sms-libcv&file=climber.c