Forums

Sega Master System / Mark III / Game Gear
SG-1000 / SC-3000 / SF-7000 / OMV
Home - Forums - Games - Scans - Maps - Cheats - Credits
Music - Videos - Development - Hacks - Translations - Homebrew

View topic - Coleco games on a SMS........

Reply to topic
arsdigita
Coleco games on a SMS........
Post Posted: Thu Jun 21, 2001 7:09 am
I read that a Colecovision adapter was planned for the SMS. Could a homebrew version be constructed? I'm a newbie in SMS dev, (but enthusiastic).

Any ideas from the gurus out there?

I'm thinking it couldn't be done software only, but perhaps a piggy-back cart....

Post Posted: Thu Jun 21, 2001 8:57 am
> I read that a Colecovision adapter was planned for the SMS. Could a homebrew version be constructed? I'm a newbie in SMS dev, (but enthusiastic).
> Any ideas from the gurus out there?
> I'm thinking it couldn't be done software only, but perhaps a piggy-back cart....

It is very possible, but definitively not by software only.

A cartridge containing the 8kb Colecovision BIOS, with a mapper redirecting memory and port to their SMS (actually SG-1000) equivalent, and allowign to plug Colecovision cartridges is faisable.
Then there's the problem of supporting inputs, since Colecovision keypad has 12 keys.
Rob
Post Posted: Fri Jun 22, 2001 5:22 am
> > I read that a Colecovision adapter was planned for the SMS. Could a homebrew version be constructed? I'm a newbie in SMS dev, (but enthusiastic).
> > Any ideas from the gurus out there?
> > I'm thinking it couldn't be done software only, but perhaps a piggy-back cart....

> It is very possible, but definitively not by software only.

> A cartridge containing the 8kb Colecovision BIOS, with a mapper redirecting memory and port to their SMS (actually SG-1000) equivalent, and allowign to plug Colecovision cartridges is faisable.
> Then there's the problem of supporting inputs, since Colecovision keypad has 12 keys.