SG-1000 / SC-3000 / SF-7000 / OMV
Home - Forums - Games - Scans - Maps - Cheats - Credits
Music - Videos - Development - Hacks - Translations - Homebrew

View topic - Presenting ArcoEdit: a Rainbow Islands level editor

Reply to topic
Presenting ArcoEdit: a Rainbow Islands level editor
Post Posted: Sun Oct 27, 2019 11:27 am
Last edited by Tom on Mon Nov 04, 2019 6:15 am; edited 11 times in total

I'm not good at describing stuff, so I'll get straight to the point(s).

Premise.
ArcoEdit is a level editor for the Master System version of Rainbow Islands. The reason behind the name is that "rainbow" translates to words starting with "arc" in many languages, including Portuguese. Since Rainbow Islands had a Brasilian release, it seemed fitting. Also, I'm Italian. And Bock is French. Go team Latin.

From this point forward I'm going to say "tiles" for simplicity even if I'm actually referring to the 16×16 metatiles.

Features.
This editor has been confirmed to work with both the 00EC173A and the C172A22C roms. It doesn't really check if you're trying to open a known rom or not, though most wrong files will fail to load because of the tiles, so it's all good. To open a rom, just drop it on the editor icon in your Explorer. At that point, the loaded rom will be locked to prevent other programs from editing it in the mean time, though it will still be readable in case you want to test it in your emulator of choice without closing the editor.