Sega Master System / Mark III / Game Gear
SG-1000 / SC-3000 / SF-7000 / OMV
Home - Forums - Games - Scans - Maps - Cheats - Credits
Music - Videos - Development - Hacks - Translations - Homebrew

View topic - Sega Master System software error

Reply to topic
Sega Master System software error
Post Posted: Sat Jul 27, 2019 8:13 pm
I have an original Sega Master System (no built in game) and every cartridge I try gives the 'software error' message.

I have fully cleaned the cartridge slot and the games work in another console. I have reflowed the solder where the cartridge slot meets the board and every pin has good continuity.

I'm now at a loss as to what the problem could be. A faulty chip perhaps? But which one?

Unfortunately I have no card games to test.

Many thanks in advance!
  • Site Admin
Post Posted: Sat Jul 27, 2019 9:24 pm
It's likely the cartridge slot, can you check continuity between a plugged in cart and the slot pins?
Post Posted: Mon Jul 29, 2019 10:08 am
I’ve double tested continuity between the contacts on a known working cartridge and the underside of the cartridge connector and all is good with no shorts.

All this tells me that all is well with the cart slot.

Could the software error be generated in another way? Bad capacitors or a faulty chip?
  • Site Admin
Post Posted: Mon Jul 29, 2019 1:11 pm
Software error means the BIOS is working, it has found the cartridge but either the region or checksum checks have failed. The latter is most likely, and suggests some problem between the IO controller and the cartridge slot.
Post Posted: Mon Jul 29, 2019 2:51 pm
Thanks. Which chip is the IO controller? I can’t see any damaged traces but if I can pinpoint the location of a possible problem I’ll look closer. I’m curious if a card game would work and will try and get one.
Post Posted: Mon Jul 29, 2019 5:26 pm
MadFox wrote