Sega Master System / Mark III / Game Gear
SG-1000 / SC-3000 / SF-7000 / OMV
Home - Forums - Games - Scans - Maps - Cheats - Credits
Music - Videos - Development - Hacks - Translations - Homebrew

View topic - SN76489 Spectrogram Test Results

Reply to topic
SN76489 Spectrogram Test Results
Post Posted: Wed Oct 03, 2018 10:12 pm
So I discovered the ominous beauty of spectrogram sound art. Since I'm also a chiptune musician I had yet another crazy idea... Is spectogram art possible within the limitations of chiptune?..

With Deflemask & Sonic Visualizer, I learned through trial-&-error on how spectograms display sound data, once I figured that out I attempted to try something simple first; a message.

It also seems that note B-6 is the highest you can possibly go for an image height limit, any higher and the notes start behaving erratically, skipping/repeating tunes & whatnot. Not sure if its a bug in the sound chip or the emulation, or me being stupid again, idk honestly.

I quickly realized the square wave channels display horizontal lines with no problem, this can be done with a single note if all you're trying to draw is a simple horizontal line. The real challenge was displaying vertical lines, I got around this by playing a multiplexed sequence of specific note strobes, this could be done with a single square channel but I figured its probably better with at least 2 working together for the sake of quality.