Sega Master System / Mark III / Game Gear
SG-1000 / SC-3000 / SF-7000 / OMV
Home - Forums - Games - Scans - Maps - Cheats - Credits
Music - Videos - Development - Hacks - Translations - Homebrew

View topic - Building an audio circuit using an Arduino Micro and AY-3-8912

Reply to topic
Building an audio circuit using an Arduino Micro and AY-3-8912
Post Posted: Fri Dec 15, 2017 6:42 am
I'm new to EE in general and I just received my first oscilloscope (Rigol DS1102E).

Anyway, I'm building an audio circuit using an Arduino Micro and the famous AY-3-8912

OK, so basically I have 8 digital pins from the Arduino tied to the D0-D7 pins of the IC, couple pins for the !CE and !WE and a 3.579 Mhz oscillator tied to pin 14 (clock) of the IC.

I'm able to play tones just fine.

But here is what puzzles me. Look at the picture and notice that I have what appears to be noise in the 471 kHz range. That noise is on pin 7 (AUDIO OUT) of the IC.

Lots of noise?

Since it's in the 471kHz range, I'm assuming that's why I don't physically hear it coming through my speakers.

Also, when I send a 440Hz tone through the speakers, the tone sounds great. But, I obviously don't see 440Hz on the scope. But I see it wildly fluctuate. Like it's combining the 440Hz with the 471kHz.

I can provide more pictures and details if anyone needs it. Any tips on helping me track this down would be greatly appreciated.

EDIT

Update: To answer some questions/comments:

I have tried powering the Arduino (and the entire circuit) two different ways. One with a crappy wall-wart PSU and the other from my USB port of my MacBook Pro.

I have my circuit on a Parallax Pro development board which has a voltage regulator built in. Not sure of the quality. However, I have put a 1Mhz crystal oscillator off to the side of the board and the scope reads 1.000Mhz consistently but there is some spiking on each edge. But, it's consistent.