SG-1000 / SC-3000 / SF-7000 / OMV
Home - Forums - Games - Scans - Maps - Cheats - Credits
Music - Videos - Development - Hacks - Translations - Homebrew

View topic - Windows emu revisited

Reply to topic
vecna
Windows emu revisited
Post Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2000 6:17 am
Well, I've made some progress on my Windows emu, which I've tentatively named 'chasms'. I've taken a screenshot, which I've posted at http://vecna.verge-rpg.com/chasms/chasms.jpg . There's still a LOT of work to do, but since I've never coded an emu before, this screenshot makes me a happy person -- I've got a serious shot at this.

Regarding porting Calypso to windows -- I can attempt to do it, but well, this whole emu project for me started out by ATTEMPTING to port MASSAGE 0.61 to windows, and realizing it might very well be easier to code one from scratch. :) Maybe Calypso would be easier to port, I'm not sure. The thing is that there are a lot of peculiar things about Windows vs. DOS; while you can do 8-bit paletted graphics, all of the windows code I've written in the past is hicolor, and so my emulater is also hicolor. (super-eagle SMS? ... probably would be pointless, but maybe I'll try it one day. ^_^) Anyhow, I'd be willing to give it a shot, but I while I'm fairly confident in my ability to create an emu from scratch, I've not had a great track record porting stuff. For instance, DJGPP uses that freakish AT&T ASM syntax, which, while I can convert it, is a pain.

Either way, I'll release my source code when the emulator playably runs commercial ROMs and has it's first release, so if nothing else, you can attempt to port it yourself from the windows code I have. Of course, there's also Allegro, but I've never used Allegro, and don't know it's API very well.

- vecna

• Site Admin
Post Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2000 7:02 am
>For instance, DJGPP uses that freakish AT&T ASM syntax, which, while I can convert it, is a pain.

Intel syntax is freakish. And backwards.