SG-1000 / SC-3000 / SF-7000 / OMV
Home - Forums - Games - Scans - Maps - Cheats - Credits
Music - Videos - Development - Hacks - Translations - Homebrew

View topic - A little confused about GFX

Reply to topic
Jason Starr
A little confused about GFX
Post Posted: Sat Feb 05, 2000 4:12 am
Ok people... at the moment I have hangon to the title screen loop where it waits for user input. I wanna make the title screen display so I guess this is where i start my GFX emulation. I was just wondering if any of you guys could help me out a little as I am still relatively new to coding and emulation and its hard to go from the docs to actual source code. Any help on stuff like scanlines, vblank , etc would be appreciated. Thanks again.

-Jason Starr-

Nyef
Post Posted: Mon Feb 07, 2000 8:12 pm
> Ok people... at the moment I have hangon to the title screen loop where it waits for user input. I wanna make the title screen display so I guess this is where i start my GFX emulation. I was just wondering if any of you guys could help me out a little as I am still relatively new to coding and emulation and its hard to go from the docs to actual source code. Any help on stuff like scanlines, vblank , etc would be appreciated. Thanks again.

Well, when I start adding graphics to a new emulator, I start by laying out the system timing.

The first thing is to create a function that is called every scanline (227.5 cycles on the SMS by my count, but take that with a grain of salt). If you are using Marat's Z80 core, setting IPeriod to 228 will call Loop6502 at the correct times (adjust for whatever core you're actually using).

Next, I add all the I/O emulation code. VDP status reads, memory writes, register setting. status and registers will usually be stubs, but the memory access should be functional.