SG-1000 / SC-3000 / SF-7000 / OMV
Home - Forums - Games - Scans - Maps - Cheats - Credits
Music - Videos - Development - Hacks - Translations - Homebrew

View topic - SMS loose carts PAL / NTSC

Reply to topic
SMS loose carts PAL / NTSC
Post Posted: Sat Jul 23, 2022 1:38 am
Hi all,

Is there any way to tell if a loose cart is PAL or NTSC?
Anything to look for on boards or chips?

Thanks
  • Site Admin
Post Posted: Sat Jul 23, 2022 7:15 am
No, they are identical - apart from if the game itself is a regional exclusive.
Post Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2022 1:19 am
Maxim wrote
No, they are identical - apart from if the game itself is a regional exclusive.

Thanks for the quick reply!

I've read that PAL are on 50 hz and NTSC on 60 hz. I have an NTSC Master system 1, and I know for sure I have several PAL and several NTSC games, which all work as it is not region locked.

So I guess carts are "made" to be optimised in 50 or 60? Would it be possible that PAL games on my NTSC console could be identified because of visual glitches for example?

There is so much variation with pricing for some games depending on their region I'd really like to be able to identify loose ones but I cant find anything so far!
Post Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2022 4:24 am
Most PAL games should play fine on an NTSC console.

This site does have a list of "PAL Only" games that have known glitches when used on an NTSC console:
https://www.smspower.org/Tags/PALOnly
Post Posted: Fri Jul 29, 2022 2:16 pm
Thanks for your input. Yes my PAL games work fine, still there seems to be small image glitches from time to time. For example with Bomber Raid, sometimes the bullets I fire completely disappear, even if I still hear the sound effect, then it comes back after around 10 secs.

From the list you mentionned, I only have Sonic 2, and havnt encountered any severe issue except from the same little quick video glitches when for example rings or enemies tend to fade off for 1 or 2 seconds...