Sega Master System / Mark III / Game Gear
SG-1000 / SC-3000 / SF-7000 / OMV
Home - Forums - Games - Scans - Maps - Cheats - Credits
Music - Videos - Development - Hacks - Translations - Homebrew

View topic - Tensai Bakabon - Translation Beta Testing

Reply to topic
Tensai Bakabon - Translation Beta Testing
Post Posted: Fri Apr 08, 2022 9:17 pm

Greetings, this is my first time on here. December last year, a friend proposed the idea of translating Tensai Bakabon, given I recently picked up the z80 assembly language. This is my first time programming and making hacks with the architecture. After a couple months of work, the game is fully translated. The translation features (my first) Variable Width Font hack for all the text.

We're currently looking for beta testers to test out the translation out on real hardware, find crash scenarios, find typos, and find lines that don't make sense. Any undumped pointer entries will crash the translation. Additionally, lines are reused in a lot of places, so we want to make sure everything makes sense in context.

So if you're up to beta test the game by searching every nook and cranny in the game, please join our discord and we'll give you the beta tester role.

https://discord.gg/aZ2M6gRJg6
Post Posted: Sat Apr 09, 2022 5:55 am
I'd like to add - for those interested - that the game is quite short overall. You can easily finish it in an hour or two. Also, just to reiterate what needs testing in particular:

a) if there are any undumped lines - those will cause crashes;
b) if there are any typos, weird/awkward lines, any other script issues;
c) the password system - does it break anything at any part of the game? Are there any issues with it at any point?
d) items - do they break anything? Also - full inventory message etc. (that can also cause issues)
e) does the VWF look good on hardware? If you have any font suggestions etc. - those are welcome as well.
  • Site Admin
Post Posted: Sat Apr 09, 2022 8:00 am