Sega Master System / Mark III / Game Gear
SG-1000 / SC-3000 / SF-7000 / OMV
Home - Forums - Games - Scans - Maps - Cheats - Credits
Music - Videos - Development - Hacks - Translations - Homebrew

View topic - My Master System II has gone crazy

Reply to topic
My Master System II has gone crazy
Post Posted: Thu Nov 04, 2021 1:52 pm
Hi, firstly sorry for my first post here being one asking for help but I've not had a Master System for many years until a few days ago.

I have a Master System II I bought as a job lot bit of a gamble, I just tried it out but it is being very strange.

I'm testing the built-in Alex Kidd game as I don't have any cartridges right now. I've taken a video of what I'm seeing as I can't quite describe it, it is more than video corruption, the audio sounds strange and it seems the game isn't doing what I'd expect.

It looks like sprites are loading in the wrong places and corrupted, after watching the intro screen, it goes right to the map screen without me doing anything and stays there. If I press the "Pause" button on the console then it appears to go to the motorbike demo sequence but it shows Alex running instead of on a bike! If I press Pause again then it goes back to the map. I don't think this should happen.

I have removed the PCB from the unit and visually checked for dry solder joints and broken tracks, I've just done this by eye for now but it looks clean. I've also checked the voltage in and out of the regulator and it is 9.5v in, 5.06v out which seems within tolerance? Those remain stable.

Am I looking at a corrupted CPU or bios/rom chip here?

Here's a video, it's really weird:

https://photos.app.goo.gl/rQ48YWWPXwkpy2As8