SG-1000 / SC-3000 / SF-7000 / OMV
Home - Forums - Games - Scans - Maps - Cheats - Credits
Music - Videos - Development - Hacks - Translations - Homebrew

View topic - Game Gear 2 Asic C6 capacitor help

Reply to topic
Game Gear 2 Asic C6 capacitor help
Post Posted: Thu Jul 29, 2021 8:53 am
Hi everyone.

I was recently gifted a recapped game gear. I am new to this world of game gear repairs, but from what i researched online, it is a 2 asic game gear and they used ceramic capacitors on the recap.

The shell was in terrible condition, so i bought an aftermarket shell and when i took apart the game gear to swap the shell i noticed that the capacitor on the C6 spot was a bit crooked and on closer inspection, i noticed the negative side pad was somewhat lifted from the board. I bought a cheap soldering iron and melted the solder and the pad seem to have stuck back on the board.

The game gear was and still is working properly (as far as i can tell). So my questions are:

- Would the game gear not work if the c6 capacitor wasnt making contact on the negative side?
-should i solder a wire from the c6 to a ground spot somewhere on the board to be safe?

Thanks in advance for reading this and for any help you can provide.
Post Posted: Thu Jul 29, 2021 1:31 pm
I don't know about c6, but in general ceramic caps are usually filter/bypass caps, device will probably work fine without it, but they do help with stability over time. a bypass cap will make up for the slight power sag when a chip is doing certain operations. If you're interested in an awesome video about this subject, check out the bypass cap tutorial by eevblog:
- bypass cap tutorial
- bypass caps visualized (with a scope)

best regards,
- dink
Post Posted: Tue Aug 10, 2021 7:53 am
dink wrote