Forums

Sega Master System / Mark III / Game Gear
SG-1000 / SC-3000 / SF-7000 / OMV
Home - Forums - Games - Scans - Maps - Cheats - Credits
Music - Videos - Development - Hacks - Translations - Homebrew

View topic - Collision detection (was: A question about development)

Reply to topic
Bofner
Collision detection (was: A question about development)
Post Posted: Sat Jan 16, 2021 4:20 am
Hi all! I'm happy to see that there's a community based around game development for the SMS! That's pretty exciting.

I'm trying to learn the ropes, and while I've hit a lot of road blocks, I've managed to figure stuff out on my own up to this point just based off of Maxim and hang on's tutorials as well as the official documents, but since this is my first time really programming with an assembly language, it's a bit challenging.

My question right now is about collision. I'm making a really short project right now to get started, and it's based off of hang on's Racer game. Pretty much I have some ships, and I want to be able to attack those ships. Rather than just checking to see if ANY collision has happened, I'd like to know WHICH sprites are touching, in order to determine if the player has died, or if the player has killed an enemy.

What's the way to go about this aside from just checking to see if ANY two sprites are colliding? I'll attach my source code in case that helps.

Thanks!

tl;dr
How does collision work and can I tell which sprites are colliding?
Bofner_Game.zip (10.49 KB)

Post Posted: Sat Jan 16, 2021 6:57 am
There are MANY ways to check collision in games.

Though as I hear, it is most common to use "hitboxes".
That is, to regard collidable objects as squares/rectangles, since it's easier and faster to check X/Y coordinates of the hitboxes.

Usually more fairly-designed games would make the hitboxes smaller than the visible sprites. (since making the hitbox bigger than the sprite would mean that hits would register before they even physically touch)