Sega Master System / Mark III / Game Gear
SG-1000 / SC-3000 / SF-7000 / OMV
Home - Forums - Games - Scans - Maps - Cheats - Credits
Music - Videos - Development - Hacks - Translations - Homebrew

View topic - M404 patched bios

Reply to topic
M404 patched bios
Post Posted: Fri Aug 28, 2020 10:17 am
Last edited by scrappysphinx on Fri Aug 28, 2020 11:24 am; edited 1 time in total
Hi all, not sure if this is already out there but thought i'd share it.

Basically i liked the startup of the M404 bios and knew that if i added the copyright sega string at the correct offset using a hex editor it would boot game roms but of course this couldn't be used on real hardware as we can't edit retail carts.

I have zero knowledge on assembly (or any other language really) so I got my friend Andy to take a look at the bios and see if he could get it booting all games.

After a couple of hours he sent me this patched version. I have tested it with an emulator and it seems to work great. i have then burnt it to a 27c512 and used it in a pal master system 2 console and it boots every game i've thrown at it.

With his permission we thought we'd share it in case anyone else wants to give it a try.

There are 2 roms i haven't got it to boot but both of these have had ips patches applied.

The first is the Japanese Phantasy Star with the English translation patch from this forum, it starts the bios but then glitches before the game starts.

The second is the Sonic the Hedgehog FM by valleybell also from this forum. That one starts but hangs on the Master System logo.

Both Phantasy Star and Sonic play perfectly without the patches applied however.
bios.jpg (375.28 KB)
bios.jpg
bios1.jpg (288.85 KB)
bios1.jpg
bios2.jpg (317.64 KB)
bios2.jpg
m404_patched.zip (2.33 KB)
M404 bios patched to play any game

Post Posted: Fri Aug 28, 2020 10:32 am
Forgot to mention, if anyone does try it and discovers an issue please let me know and i'll see if he'd be willing to have another look :)