Sega Master System / Mark III / Game Gear
SG-1000 / SC-3000 / SF-7000 / OMV
Home - Forums - Games - Scans - Maps - Cheats - Credits
Music - Videos - Development - Hacks - Translations - Homebrew

View topic - Othello Multivision power problems

Reply to topic
Othello Multivision power problems
Post Posted: Sun Jul 19, 2020 3:41 pm
Hey all, longtime lurker - I've been collecting Master System for a few decades now and some of you have graciously helped me to get a mostly full set of the NA/EU/JP collection and in the last few years I've been really trying to grab and play all the SG-1000 titles now too. Part of that journey was getting the Othello Multivision and the handful of interesting games it had. My Multivision arrived and played well when first booting it up, but after a few minutes the screen would get wavy and then eventually just cut out completely. I'd switch the system on and off and it would work again, but this time even shorter than the first time before cutting out again. Each time I repeat turning it on and off it would work for a shorter period until it was basically only a few seconds before it would stop. If I left the system alone for a little while then tried to fire it up again, the system would work for longer (a few minutes) before crapping out.

Is that a capacitor problem? I'm pretty novice at circuit boards and all that stuff, but I was hoping this was something I could fix on my own since it's such an obscure and undocumented system. Any help would be appreciated, I want to give this old system a new life (and learn the intricacies of Othello while I'm at it!).
  • Site Admin
Post Posted: Sun Jul 19, 2020 6:09 pm
Quite likely the capacitors, yes.
Post Posted: Sun Jul 19, 2020 9:53 pm
Maxim wrote
Quite likely the capacitors, yes.

Appreciate the feedback, I guess I'll try to desolder the capacitors and test them out next. Pray for this board, haha.
Post Posted: Mon Jul 20, 2020 1:53 am