Forums

Sega Master System / Mark III / Game Gear
SG-1000 / SC-3000 / SF-7000 / OMV
Home - Forums - Games - Scans - Maps - Cheats - Credits
Music - Videos - Development - Hacks - Translations - Homebrew

View topic - Getting Light Phaser to work with a adapter hooked up to SMS Controller Link Cable

Reply to topic
Getting Light Phaser to work with a adapter hooked up to SMS Controller Link Cable
Post Posted: Sat May 16, 2020 7:39 am
Good morning, I am very very new to modding for the SMS and game gear. I used to do a lot more back in the early 2000's and 90's. Anyway, I bought a modded Game Gear since mine was dead from storage. The mod had the McWill Mod and TV out without controller ports. I have a cable to goes to HDMI and converts back to Composite via a converter box to a CRT.

Anyway, I have tried to follow a Video for a project to get a light phaser working from my Game Gear without opening it up by making a custom adapter that allows it to work.

Search "Ultimate Sega GameGear - Light Gun and 2nd Player Ctrl" in youtube to find the link.

It's unclear in parts of the video how things are wired up and I am JUST NOW becoming more interested in learning about electronics. Attempted to replicate the process. For parts I bought a 7805 Voltage Regulators (some extra for good measure), Female Mono plug to bare wire, universal power supply (mine can do up to 12v and has a 9v setting also)