Sega Master System / Mark III / Game Gear
SG-1000 / SC-3000 / SF-7000 / OMV
Home - Forums - Games - Scans - Maps - Cheats - Credits
Music - Videos - Development - Hacks - Translations - Homebrew

View topic - Timing Sensitive Games?

Reply to topic
Timing Sensitive Games?
Post Posted: Tue Feb 04, 2020 2:39 am
I've been discussing a concept with some friends for a few months now - mostly casually, rather than any serious intention for implementation - about what if SEGA went for a Game Gear successor in 1995-96, maybe based on the Mega Drive VDP.

One sticking point is how the CPU would be upgraded.
The Z380 strikes me as a potential CPU that could be an incredibly powerful thing, whilst still being power efficient.
The difficulty is that whilst it retains a Z80-compatible ISA, and a mode for it - the actual timings still run on the Z380 optimizations.

This would mean that a custom Z380 variant would have to be ordered by SEGA so that there's two sets of microcode ROMs, one for proper Z80 timings in Game Gear/Master System mode.

By this point, the topic is somewhat academic, but I am also still rather curious - outside of timing sensitive PCM loops, just what software is surprisingly timing sensitive for SEGA's pair of 8-bit machines?
  • Site Admin
Post Posted: Tue Feb 04, 2020 7:53 am
Any peripheral needing timer between writes - particularly the VDP - will have cycle counting delays. Of course you probably have a compatible VDP.

I think it's more likely they'd have done something similar to the Game Boy Color where the CPU is custom anyway and it has a 100% compatibility mode and a high speed mode.

More practically, they could have made Nomad use carts in the GG form factor and have backwards compatibility. I guess they were more concerned with taking standard Genesis cartridges - which was probably a good idea, although not great for portability.
Post Posted: Tue Feb 04, 2020 1:32 pm