SG-1000 / SC-3000 / SF-7000 / OMV
Home - Forums - Games - Scans - Maps - Cheats - Credits
Music - Videos - Development - Hacks - Translations - Homebrew

View topic - Fix checksum in 48KB ROMS

Reply to topic
Fix checksum in 48KB ROMS
Post Posted: Tue May 24, 2016 6:32 am
Hello

i am making some cartmods of several SG-1000 games, until yesterday all games tested worked perfectly but i am trying to do a cartmod of The Castle game that ocuppies 48kb and this not work on real hardware. I have an european Master System 2 and i am trying to fix checksum as other SG1000 games but this time it not works.

If i go to the 7ff0 i see that this line is not empty and if change it, it appears garbage on screen on the emulator. Well, i can see that 1ff0 and 3ff0 are empty but the problem is that if i change 1ff0 or 3ff0 i can´t fix the cheksum and the checksum calculated with Header Reader always change and i can't complete it. If i test it on real hardware always says Software error as i expected. I mark the size byte as 64KB.

I test with two games, The Castle MSX version, Knightmare and some others.

Any idea to fix the checksum to make it work on real hardware?

I am searching info but i found nothing about these roms or my problem.
  • Site Admin
Post Posted: Tue May 24, 2016 6:59 am
Have you checked their pages?

The Castle SG-1000 is 32-KB but uses extra embedded 8 KB of RAM.
http://www.smspower.org/Games/Castle-SG

The Castle MSX conversion is 48 kb and also use an adapter, it may or may not work on a Master System.
http://www.smspower.org/Games/CastleMsx-SG

(It's hard for me to understand why people are bothering making cart mods when 1) the SG-1000 palette looks so wrong on SMS and 2) those games are becoming cheaper and cheaper, whereas cart mods take times and are killing games which may eventually because more scarce.)
  • Site Admin
Post Posted: Tue May 24, 2016 7:43 am