Forums

Sega Master System / Mark III / Game Gear
SG-1000 / SC-3000 / SF-7000 / OMV
Home - Forums - Games - Scans - Maps - Cheats - Credits
Music - Videos - Development - Hacks - Translations - Homebrew

View topic - Video Poker: My first SMS Project (WIP)

Reply to topic
Video Poker: My first SMS Project (WIP)
Post Posted: Thu Aug 18, 2011 9:31 pm
Last edited by Sket on Thu Aug 18, 2011 10:45 pm; edited 1 time in total
Hi All

Well I thought it was about time I posted something about my first SMS project - so here goes:

I started the project about 10 days ago, and I'm quite pleased with how far I have progressed in that time considering I'm new to the SMS and still learning z80 too.

One word of warning - if the "Games" or "Bank" reaches 0 it will most likely crash :p.

Hopefully I can get some feedback at this early stage to help shape the final release.

Instructions:
-----------------
Use UP/Down to adjust the amount to bet (1 - 5) - note the payout table will change accordingly.

Press START (1) to place bet and show your cards.

At the moment an "X" is displayed over the currently selected card.

Use LEFT/RIGHT to select a card UP/DOWN to toggle "HOLD" on and off.

Once you have decided which card(s) you would like to hold - press "START" to continue and you will be dealt replacement card(s) for each one you did not hold.

At this point a number will be displayed in lower left corner 0 - 9:

0 - Lose
1 - 9 = Winner - matched the payout table 1 at the bottom going upwards ie 1 = "Pair of Jacks or Better" / 9 = "Royal Flush".

Press Button 2 to start a new hand.

Planned Todo list:

1) Replace "X" over current selected card to something nice
2) Replace "0 - 9" with meaningful text prompts
3) Implement Game over routines if Bank or Games reaches 0
4) General Graphics overhaul - god forbid the cards "JQK" /cry - I suck a drawing.
5) Animated dealing of cards from deck to the hand.
6) Sound FX :o
7) Nice splash screen instead of the boring text.