|
|
ForumsSega Master System / Mark III / Game GearSG-1000 / SC-3000 / SF-7000 / OMV |
Home - Forums - Games - Scans - Maps - Cheats Music - Videos - Development - Translations - Homebrew |
![]() |
| Author | Message |
|---|---|
|
I got a strange private message in my inbox
|
A recentrly registered user, JamesWilliams, who claims to be an administrator of this site, sent me this message:
As I checked this account was just registered and has no posts, I strongly believe this is a spam private message. It's impossible for me to send spam from this computer to this forum, since my last post here was years ago. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
It is indeed spam.
http://www.smspower.org/forums/viewtopic.php?p=60427#60427 Users with email PM notifications will be getting notified, even though the PMs themselves are all deleted. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
Just got the same spam message as above. Sun Mar 14, 2010 6:57 am, spammer: MichealTracy.
I did not receive any notification. |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
I got a new private message from MichealTracy (you can tell it's spam, he even spelled "his" name wrong!
LOL Cheers, LSM |
|
|
|
|
|
|
| I just got one as well. | |
|
|
|
|
|
| Same here! | |
|
|
|
|
|
| me too. | |
|
|
|
|
|
| Whomever is hitting this forum also hit a webcomic forum I semi-frequent. Not sure if they've figured out a way to get rid of him short of disabling PMs entirely :P | |
|
|
|
|
|
| I also got a spam from MichaelTracy. Not sure how a "virus alert" could be "noticed on my computer" when I haven't even logged in in a while... >:( | |
|
|
|
|
|
|
I just got this email sounds to be the same one as above, I
have not loged in for sometime as well and even had to re-set my password to re-enter so this must be an attempt to get access to our computers by using the "Virus scan" offered here is the text from the message " From: MichealTracy To: Dennis Posted: Sun Mar 14, 2010 1:56 pm Subject: Take measures immediately! Quote message Dear, Dennis! A virus alert was noticed on your computer. We highly recommend you to check your computer and perform online virus check at our site immediately: http://virus-total.servebbs.org/online-scanner/Dennis If you do not pass this test we will have to delete your account and forward a complaint to your ISP with attached log file (your IP address, etc.). ---------------------------------------------------- Forum Administration www.smspower.org" |
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Sorry for all this. I've blacklisted some of the phrases in the spam and re-deleted the account. It's using automated software to send PMs using human-created accounts. It's also careful to avoid PMing administrators... | |
|
|
|
|
|
That is another variant of the message explained before, I hope we trace back that site and hopefully do something about the threats! To the Malwear/Trojan Spammers: How about a trip to the BBB (Better Business Bureau). That will help, As you spammers have mental problems. *Points to Weird Al: Virus Alert music video on Youtube* |
|
|
|
![]() |