SG-1000 / SC-3000 / SF-7000 / OMV
Home - Forums - Games - Scans - Maps - Cheats - Credits
Music - Videos - Development - Hacks - Translations - Homebrew

View topic - Recommended workflow for sprite creation

Reply to topic
Recommended workflow for sprite creation
Post Posted: Fri Jun 09, 2017 12:45 pm
Hi,

I am new to SMS development and I am currently struggling with my graphics workflow. Maxim's bmp2tile software seems to be great for converting sprites to the sega tile format, but the problem I have is to create graphics suitable for the program.

I only experimented with PNGs and from what I can tell bmp2tile is only able to convert paletted PNG files.
1. I tried to create some with MS Paint, but paint seems to produce only non-paletted PNGs.
2. Next I tried to use paint.net: The produced PNGs seem to work with bmp2tile, however for sprites I have the problem, that the color 0 in the generated palette has to be transparent, but neither paint.net nor bmp2tile allow you to specify the palette.
3. I tried to edit the PNG's palette with tweakpng, which worked, but messes up the images colors pixels (of course)
4. I tried editing again with paint.net, but it ignores the existing palette and overwrites it.

I am wondering if anyone has an established, proven, efficient workflow and if you could share it. Worst case I write a tool to allow PNG palette manipulations while changing the image accordingly, which seems not an ideal workflow anyway.
Post Posted: Fri Jun 09, 2017 2:40 pm
Personally, I can't recommend Cosmigo's ProMotion enough. It's by far the best tool for creating pixel graphics, IMO. Plus it allows you to tweak the palette exactly as you need it, for example if you want to have certain colors in the first 4 or 8 spots to create 2bpp or 3bpp tiles.
ProMotion is not free, but I think there's a trial version.

Of course you can get perfect results with other tools, too.