Forums

Sega Master System / Mark III / Game Gear
SG-1000 / SC-3000 / SF-7000 / OMV
Home - Forums - Games - Scans - Maps - Cheats - Credits
Music - Videos - Development - Hacks - Translations - Homebrew

View topic - New user, would like to know about common tools used for sms programming

Reply to topic
New user, would like to know about common tools used for sms programming
Post Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2016 4:44 am
I'm a developer that have interest in the sms and would like to experiment some code on this platform again. I did some programming in the past for other platform like the nes but I have been busy with family life and all projects have been on hold since then. Now I feel like coding again, something new, to change from the current routine. The sms was my first console so I want to try what I can do with it.

I'm pretty new to sms coding, may have tried a simple hello world a long time ago with wla-dx if my memory is good. Since that time (7-10 years ago), tools may have changed so I want to get up-to-date on the subject.

I tried looking at the development section of the site but the information seems old so the forum must be the most up-to-date section. Since I don't know what to search for, it is a little bit hard to find in the 80 pages of forum post.

I found:
- wla-dx is still updated, didn't know about that
- there is a devKitSMS if I want to code in C

What I would like to know is if there is other assembler used for sms coding since I remember the wla-dx syntax was unusual compared to other assembler. I may try C but still prefer assembler when available. I would like to know what other common tools people use these days for developing for the platform.

If there is a new page on the site with the current information that I may not have found I would be more than glad to read it if someone could point me to it.

Thank in advance for any information the subject, I really appreciate it.
  • Site Admin
Post Posted: Sat Dec 31, 2016 10:16 am