Sega Master System / Mark III / Game Gear
SG-1000 / SC-3000 / SF-7000 / OMV
Home - Forums - Games - Scans - Maps - Cheats - Credits
Music - Videos - Development - Hacks - Translations - Homebrew

View topic - Who made the VDPs

Reply to topic
Who made the VDPs
Post Posted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 1:45 pm
First of all, Hi all! I'm a newbie here! I've been interested in SMS for far too long to not be on this forum so decided to join. Hope you don't mind me jumping in...

My first question if anyone is interested in helping is to ask about the VDP. Through leaked service manuals we now know comprehensively that Yamaha manufactured the Master system and Genesis VDPs. But does that mean Yamaha designed them and Sega bought them under some exclusive contract, or does it mean Yamaha simply fabbed them for Sega? I would have said the first scenario until I noticed that NEC manufactured the VDP for the Game Gear (see the service manual, it lists an NEC part).

OK, so we know also that Yamaha cloned the TMS9918 and the nascent TMS9228 and evolved it into the V9938, so it does seem like Yamaha is still the best candidate for designer of the VDP but I'm still left wondering... did SEGA have the in house resources to design their own stuff, or did they just farm it out to Yamaha?
Post Posted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 1:48 pm
answering my own question somewhat (how crude of me), I just wanted to add that the thing that tips it in the favour of being also Yamaha designed is that the 9228 had it made production was advertised as having an on die PSG, which indeed the Sega VDP has.
Post Posted: Sun Nov 09, 2014 2:37 am
I would have said the first scenario until I noticed that NEC manufactured the VDP for the Game Gear (see the service manual, it lists an NEC part).

Speculating a bit here: