7 3% 3%
8 0% 0%
9 (excellent) 0% 0%
This poll has expired.
[Coding competition 2011] New Duel by losinggeneration
Post Posted: Wed Mar 23, 2011 2:22 pm
New Duel

losinggeneration wrote
This is an SMS game for the 2011 SMSPower coding competition. It is a start of a platformer similar to Marshmallow Duel.

------------------------
[Admin note: this thread was split from the general competitions thread. Original content follows...]

When I started attempting SMS/GG coding, I probably didn't do enough research because I didn't know about z88dk which may have saved me some trouble. Instead I've been using SDCC. I started out by getting something minimal up and running, and from there I built a small utility library to do some low level things. After that I started learning how the VDP worked with regards to drawing backgrounds which was easy enough. I stumbled around with sprites for some time (3-5 days) until I realized I overlooked an obvious problem, I was writing to the wrong VDP memory address. So what I currently have is a level drawn, a slight animation of a portion of the background, a sprite character with varying degrees of success for some basic animation on it, and some basic movement (very basic, just a left/right button test.)

The only thing that makes my project kind of interesting is how little Z80 assembly I actually used. It's used for the startup code and in two functions which I've avoided in favor of a better optimized macro. Everything else is in C.

Here's a couple examples:
void clear_vram() {
   uint16_t x;

/* clear palette */
   tms9918a_cram_set_address(0x00);
   for(x = 0; x < 0x20; ++x) {
      tms9918a_write(0);
   }

/* clear the entire vram */
   tms9918a_vram_set_write_address(0);
   for(x = 0; x < 0x4000; ++x)
      tms9918a_write(0);
}

Here's a library function for setting a VDP address to follow by a write:
#define tms9918a_ctrl(d) out(VDP_CTRL, d)

void tms9918a_vram_set_write_address(uint16_t addr) {