Forums

Sega Master System / Mark III / Game Gear
SG-1000 / SC-3000 / SF-7000 / OMV
Home - Forums - Games - Scans - Maps - Cheats - Credits
Music - Videos - Development - Hacks - Translations - Homebrew

View topic - Master System Parallax and Scrolling Help.

Reply to topic
Master System Parallax and Scrolling Help.
Post Posted: Sat Feb 23, 2019 8:50 pm
Greetings Everyone it's really cool to be here. I have to say this site is amazing in it's wealth of knowledge. So, to that i would like to ask a few questions. I am new to programming on the sms. I have an idea for a few games but the one i am currently wanting to work on has a scene where in space there is scrolling.

I am unfamiliar with how to program scrolling in WLA DX or ConTEXT program works. I would very much like to learn about how to make scrolling and parallax work on sms. In particular in this scene is the forward-scrolling technology. Something like Zaxxon and Grand Prix.
Also, please forgive my ignorance and noobness. I am here to learn and to make something of high quality.

I am not above just making burnable little games to train and learn but i would really like to learn it and if possible follow a tutorial. In turn I would actually return the favor and write a Tutorial for people. I think that is how community works. Right now i have a super duper positive experience here and i want to keep having that and i hope to see your replys.

Thank you so much for reading this and I look forward to responding and learning and making this something that more than one person will hopefully find fun and informative.
  • Site Admin
Post Posted: Sat Feb 23, 2019 11:12 pm
It's quite complicated and related to the way the whole game is built - not really a thing you can make a simple tutorial for.