Forums

Sega Master System / Mark III / Game Gear
SG-1000 / SC-3000 / SF-7000 / OMV
Home - Forums - Games - Scans - Maps - Cheats - Credits
Music - Videos - Development - Hacks - Translations - Homebrew

View topic - My bizarre attempt at making a BGM theme for the SN76489 using mostly the noise channel

Reply to topic
My bizarre attempt at making a BGM theme for the SN76489 using mostly the noise channel
Post Posted: Wed Sep 26, 2018 11:46 pm
So I'm still relatively new at making chiptune music but I've already gotten crazy ideas for composing music on the SMS/GG sound chip. The weirdest idea so far was when I attempted to use the noise channel (set in free-range white mode) as the lead instrument, the results were really interesting. It almost sounds alien-like, also makes me feel kind of lost when listening to it.. is it even possible to get lost in your own song lol? I certainly felt lost half the time when composing it, took forever to even get where it's at now.

Has anyone else tried something strange like this when composing chiptune music? If so, what were your results? Any funny stories to share?

This is a BGM sample of a homebrew project I'm currently working on in my spare time so please let me know what you guys think of it. Its mostly finished but since I'm o.c.d. with my music projects I'll probably find myself coming back to this one trying improve it later.
s12irwBuvlh.mp3 (1.08 MB)
Converted to MP3

Post Posted: Thu Sep 27, 2018 3:43 am
Oh WOW!

I had no idea what to expect! When you said a Noise lead, I was expecting a Tomy-style 1/16th Square lead. Not... well, this!

Completely unexpected, and very innovative.
You're clever!
Post Posted: Thu Sep 27, 2018 5:49 am
Wow!

I'm seeing an Alien Isolation Master system version with that music in the title screen :-D
  • Site Admin
Post Posted: Thu Sep 27, 2018 7:09 am