SG-1000 / SC-3000 / SF-7000 / OMV
Home - Forums - Games - Scans - Maps - Cheats - Credits
Music - Videos - Development - Hacks - Translations - Homebrew

View topic - A Question about Collision Detection

Reply to topic
A Question about Collision Detection
Post Posted: Wed May 16, 2018 6:23 am
Hi everyone, long time lurker here.

So I'm studying game development at university. My group and I were talking about our group project with our tutor when I commented that I wanted to change the character collider to a box rather than a capsule. Because capsules tend to slip of the edges of platforms, stick to the sides of them and just do all kinds of strange things in 2.5D games.

Our tutor claimed that they have always used spheres or capsules in collision detection. Even back in the 8 and 16-bit consoles. While I realize they probably could have done this my understanding is that most games, specially platformers, would use box collisions. My understanding was the engines either use the actual pixels of the sprites, did it on a tile/sprite element basis or did it manually by checking the sprit's position within a range relative to what they were testing.

Anyway, I was just wondering if someone could talk more authoritatively on this subject. Am I correct or am I missing something?
  • Site Admin
Post Posted: Wed May 16, 2018 6:58 am
There's really only enough CPU to do AABB checks, ie. rectangles. Often only one per character, except for big bosses. Pixel perfect collision checks are hard, and often not necessary - players quite like generous collision detection.

On the basic level, AABB checks require only comparisons (which is equivalent to subtraction), whereas circles require computing the centre distance (Pythagoras, so multiplication at least). One of these is massively faster than the other.