Sega Master System / Mark III / Game Gear
SG-1000 / SC-3000 / SF-7000 / OMV
Home - Forums - Games - Scans - Maps - Cheats - Credits
Music - Videos - Development - Hacks - Translations - Homebrew

View topic - Unreadable Game Gear Screen

Reply to topic
Unreadable Game Gear Screen
Post Posted: Sun Mar 04, 2018 8:03 pm
Hello everybody and congratulations for having such a big community supporting all these great Sega systems despite their age.

Last week I received a Game Gear suffering from the dim screen issue. After a teardown, I forund four capacitors in bad state, so I decided to directly replace all of them. It is a 1 ASIC version.

After recapping the system, the sound and the screen started to work as they should. However, I discovered a new issue: the screen was "glitched". I attach photos of what I am referring to.

I have very little experience with portable systems. However, I have already repaired some old computers/consoles, and my experience tells me that this can be either a video-processor (not a PPU :D) problem or a RAM (maybe VRAM?) problem (I have had similar problems with a Commodore PC with faulty RAM).

Before touching or replacing anything, any ideas about what/where could the problem be or how to test the different IC and parts of the motherboard? Any hint about how to solve the issue?

Any help will be welcomed. Thank you.

By The Way: Please, it could be great if you could avoid answers of the type "That's a lost console. It is cheaper to buy another one". I perfectly know that that may be totally true, and a repair may be more expensive, but I really want for this Game Gear to return to life.
20180304_203946.jpg (4.36 MB)
Sega Logo
20180304_203946.jpg
20180304_204004.jpg (2.32 MB)
Guess the game...
20180304_204004.jpg
20180304_203945.jpg (1.97 MB)
Unreadable text
20180304_203945.jpg
20180304_203953.jpg (1.96 MB)
Glitched EA logo
20180304_203953.jpg

Post Posted: Mon Mar 05, 2018 8:15 am