Forums

Sega Master System / Mark III / Game Gear
SG-1000 / SC-3000 / SF-7000 / OMV
Home - Forums - Games - Scans - Maps - Cheats - Credits
Music - Videos - Development - Hacks - Translations - Homebrew

View topic - Paid gig - looking for someone to pair remotely to help me get started

Reply to topic
ponny
Paid gig - looking for someone to pair remotely to help me get started
Post Posted: Sat Oct 13, 2018 10:50 pm
I'm looking to develop a SMS game. Looking for someone to pair with me remotely to help me get set up. I've been a software dev by trade for ~15 years so I should be okay once I get started. Regarding your experience, I would insist that you've done this before and have released something in the Homebrew section of this site.

I'm based in Australia but I can adjust my hours to work with anyone anywhere. Thinking hourly rate will work best for both of us.

Post Posted: Mon Oct 15, 2018 8:20 am
in case nobody shows up I'm pretty sure you can get set up quite easily by yourself in almost no time - we've got plenty of documents here
Post Posted: Mon Oct 15, 2018 3:12 pm
Agreed with sverx; I've no Master System releases to my name so am not a candidate, but it's actually a fairly easy platform to get up and running on.

There's a prescribed header with a checksum to get right if you want your game to be able to boot on US or European machines, but beyond that the cartridge file format used by emulators is a plain binary dump and most emulators don't even require it to be a power of two so the direct output of an assembler will do (subject to post hoc fixing of the checksum).

There are only two significant kinds of paging hardware, and only one official one, so there's also not a lot to learn a lot about that. Just use the official Sega scheme.