Sega Master System / Mark III / Game Gear
SG-1000 / SC-3000 / SF-7000 / OMV
Home - Forums - Games - Scans - Maps - Cheats - Credits
Music - Videos - Development - Hacks - Translations - Homebrew

View topic - VGM file data blocks??

Reply to topic
VGM file data blocks??
Post Posted: Sun Jan 07, 2018 7:19 am
Hi everybody on the forum. I am a somewhat new user here although I've been reading the articles for quite some time. I am hugely grateful for all the great information you guys have put online, as it has helped me immensely with the projects I have done thus far.

I have some experience with the YM2612, I built a midi-controlled musical keyboard, like the ones you can see a lot on YouTube (and I think Maxim actually built one of these himself, haha.) So I am familiar with the registers, sending read/write instructions and all that, at least on a hardware level as controlled by a microcontroller like an Arduino. I am not as familiar with assembly language of the system though, although I don't think I'll need that for my question.

So anyway, the reason I'm asking for your guys' help is because I'm trying to build a .vgm file player from hardware, controlled by an Arduino (so a YM2612 controlled by an Arduino, and will at the SN76489 later). I understand a good amount of the write instructions (0x52 0xaa 0xdd, 0x53 0xaa 0xdd, etc) and should be able to code those no problem.

The issue I am having is with the data block format. In the file I'm working with (Road Rash II opening theme) the .vgm instructions start at address 0x40, and look like they start with a stream of uncompressed PCM data which is handled by register 2A in port 0 of the YM2612. The bytes are (starting at 0x40):

67 66 00 10 2d 00 00 65 92 a7 7c 65